The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the Kavli Foundation are sponsoring seven awards. The awards recognise outstanding reporting for a general audience and honour individuals (rather than institutions, publishers, or employers) for their coverage of the sciences, engineering, and mathematics.

In the international category, the Children’s Science News award is open to journalists worldwide for work distributed via any medium - print, broadcast, or online. The prize recognises excellence in reporting science news for children, including young teens up to age 14.

The United States (US) category awards are for stories published within the US and by a US media outlet and include foreign-based reporters working for US media outlets. A "US media outlet" is an outlet with its headquarters in the United States. More detailed information is available on the frequently asked questions page listed below. Media categories include:

  • Large Newspapers - Daily or weekly newspapers with circulation of 100,000 or more.
  • Small Newspapers - Daily or weekly newspapers with circulation less than 100,000.
  • Magazines - Includes Sunday magazine sections of newspapers.
  • Television - Two awards: one for a 20-minute or less spot news/feature report and one for an in-depth report.
  • Radio - For news or feature stories.
  • Online - For news or features written for online sites.

The competition is open to both United States and foreign news media. Entries must have been published or broadcast between July 1 2010 and June 30 2011.

Deadline Date
Deadline Date: 
August 1, 2011
Application Info: 

Click here for more information.

Click here for frequently asked questions.

Previous Winners: 

Click here to read about previous winners.


AAAS website on March 8 2010, and email from Katharine Zambon to The Communication Initiative on May 31 2011 .