The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)’s Member States are invited to submit projects and programmes for the 2010 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes. The 2010 Literacy prizes intend to reward well established and innovative practices documenting how literacy skills (basic skills in reading, writing, and numeracy) contribute to empowerment, enabling people to better direct and control their lives. The special theme is "Literacy and Women’s Empowerment". This year’s prizes consist of four awards, with a total value of US$80,000. UNESCO will award the prizes in a ceremony on International Literacy Day.


Current UNESCO International Literacy prizes include:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize - Supporting literacy in multilingual contexts (2 awards)
  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy - Supporting literacy in rural areas (2 awards)
Deadline Date
Deadline Date: 
June 15, 2010
Application Info: 

Applications must be made by national governments or international non-governmental organisations (NGOs) maintaining formal or operational relations with UNESCO. The prizes are open to institutions, organisations, or individuals displaying outstanding merit and achieving particularly effective results in adult literacy and post-literacy activities and their integration into basic education programmes.

Click here for more information in PDF format.

Click here for an application in MS Word format.

Previous Winners: 

Click here to read about previous winners.


UNESCO website, and email from the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes Secretariat to the Communication Initiative on April 6 and June 2 2010.